Beet Chocolate Cupcakes w Mint Coconut Frosting *Vegan

I woke up this morning and felt like kicking it into high gear… in the kitchen that is!

This is the first of many food posts to take over this blog. The kitchen is where I feel most comfortable in life; it is where I usually work myself the hardest and if you ask Nick, he would tell you, it is where I am my biggest critic. This probably answers most of my family and friends questions as to why I have yet to blog about food made by me.  When it comes to my cooking and baking I never settle for just OK, if I don’t do it the way I imagined it should come out than I throw everything in the garbage and storm off I have to do it again.

A couple weeks ago I organized and ran a Fundraiser for PAWS at the Arts Market in Leslieville, in addition I was in charge of creating some goodies for the evening. We were attempting to do all vegan recipes (or at least vegetarian), since the event was a fundraiser for an animal shelter. This is where I first came across the cocomint vegan frosting on The Kind Life (Alicia Silverstone’s website). I also attempted the cupcake recipe along with it, but I found it came out way to dry. So! This leads me to my new and improved recipe for Vegan Beet Chocolate Cupcakes with Mint Coconut Frosting!

The recipe for the cake batter is very simple as you can see below. The most time consuming part is boiling the beets until they are soft and then puree-ing them in the food processor! (Expect to have pink dyed fingers after!)

BeetChocCakeRecipe

So you may have noticed, if your a vegan, that this recipe calls for eggs and says to butter the pan, well this is where the changes come in as this is an old recipe from my Mom! I substituted the 3 eggs for for 9 Tblsps of apple sauce (1 egg= 3 Tblsp of Apple Sauce).

When I say combine all ingredients, you can do so, but I started by beating the pureed beets, apple sauce, sugar, vanilla and oil together for a couple minutes, then add the dry ingredients and beat just ’til combined!

**Important** If you are making cupcakes, like me, pour batter into cups, but DO NOT BAKE FOR 1 HOUR! In the oven at 350 the cupcakes should only need about 35 minutes give or take (different ovens could need a bit longer or less).

beetchoccupcake

Remove the cupcakes from the oven, let sit for a couple minutes on the cooling rack before removing them from the baking pan. Once you remove them from the pan place them on a cooling rack. Let cool, now let’s make icing!

Vegan Mint Coconut Frosting:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Can of full fat coconut milk, refrigerated for 24 hours
  • 1/8 teaspoon Xantham gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon Natural mint extract (give or take depending on how minty you like it), if you don’t like mint vanilla is nice too!
  • Approximately 8 heaping tablespoons of icing sugar (use your discretion, depending on how sweet and how thick you like it)

Directions:

  1. Take the chilled coconut milk out of the fridge without disturbing it. Quickly turn it upside down and open the can. You will see, like in the top right picture below, that the coconut water has separated from the milk and is sitting nicely on top of the can. Pour the coconut water into a small bowl or container you do not need this for the recipe.
  2. Now, scoop half the can of milk into a mixing bowl and add the xantham gum and mint extract (or vanilla. Whisk for a minute or two. I used my kitchen aid mixer with the whisk attachment. You should notice a thickening of the coconut milk.
  3. Now add the powdered sugar, a spoonful at a time. This should thicken the mixture even more. It won’t have the same texture as normal icing, it resembles more the texture of a pudding. When desired taste and texture is achieved, put the mixture into the fridge, to keep it firm. When the cupcakes have cooled completely, spread or pipe the frosting on the cupcakes, adding sprinkles, chocolate shavings, etc!

cocomintcupcakes

Enjoy these cupcakes for Easter!

And please let me know how your recipes turn out and whether or not you like them!

Below are some kitchen gadgets from Kitchen Aid that I know I could use, for this recipe and more to come tomorrow (hint hint)!!

KitchenAid

A. Kitchen Aid Ice Cream Maker Attachment

B. Kitchen Aid 5 qt. Glass Bowl

C. Kitchen Aid Flex Edge Beater

Leave a Reply

