Shabby Chic Coat Rack

When it comes to interior design I usually find myself in the Shabby Chic department.  I love building and creating things, but in the past year I have discovered my LOVE for finding new life in old pieces! This is definitely thanks to my dad and his desire to take me antique shopping as a little girl.

When Nick and I moved in together, I knew that I finally had the chance to do what I wanted with the place, which meant… WE were going antique shopping!

At a nearby shop I found an old pane window and some brass hooks for around $10!

IMG_1367

Above is what the window looked like on both sides before I scraped the old layers of paint off and sanded it to smooth the surfaces.

IMG_1368

I contemplated painting it, but after sanding it down I really liked the rough grey look that was left! Next, I screwed on the hooks by hand Nick screwed the hooks on with his drill.

IMG_1369

You may notice that there is a glass pane missing to the right… unfortunately when I bought the window one was broken. I plan on filling this with a wood piece that I can either paint with chalkboard paint or glue some cork to. Then we will not only have a place for coats but some nice little notes!

coatrack

I hope you all enjoy this as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

