Postage Stamp Coasters

IMG_1931

At the end of 2012 I inherited the stamp collection of my boyfriend Nick’s Oma (grandmother). When I volunteered to inherit this collection I thought it consisted of two 2 litre mason jars, but what I didn’t know was that I had agreed to was literally a mountain of stamps.  Tucked away in a back room were three more large boxes. I now was left with the challenge of sorting and creating something from these beautiful vintage postage stamps.

After many suggestions I decided my first DIY project with the vintage postage stamps would be… COASTERS!

To Begin You Will Need:

– Podge (Midoco Art Supply or Michael’s)
– White 4×4″ Tiles (found at Home Depot)
– Sheets of cork (I found a pack of four 12×12″ at Walmart which I then cut into 4×4)
Krylon Preserve It! and Krylon Triple Thick Clear Glaze (found at Midoco Art Supply)
– Postage Stamps of all shapes, sizes and designs
– Hot Glue Gun with Glue

I used a fabric cutter and ruler to cut my cork sheets.

IMG_1909

After cutting the cork in 4×4 squares I used a hot glue gun to glue them to the back of the white tiles.

IMG_1922

After that the hard, more stressful, part begins. Unfortunately I did not capture any pics of this stressful time, but I will explain what it is I did.

Start by sorting through your stamps and deciding if you want to have a theme for the coasters you’re making. This may depend on what stamps you have in your collection and how many you have.

IMG_1930

Next decide if you want to overlap the stamps or not. The coasters I made below are somewhat overlapped, but not enough to hide what each stamp represents.

IMG_1931

After you have decided on a pattern you can start podging the stamps to the tile. The best way is by brushing a thin layer of podge directly onto the tile and then sticking on the stamps.

IMG_1933

Once every stamp has been placed, you can spray the stamps with the Krylon Preserve It! I would only suggest doing this step if the stamps you are using have ink marks from being posted in the past. Let this dry for at least 20-30 minutes.

IMG_1934

Next you need to brush the entire surface with a pretty thick coat of podge, so that you can just barely see the stamps below. Let this dry til it is completely clear, and then repeat at least two more times. Once the podge has completely dried, you want to use Krylon Triple Thick Clear Glaze to seal the product and make it water proof!

IMG_1935

That is it!

You now have a unique conversation piece, a place for drinks and for Nick and I a happy memory of Oma!

Leave a Reply

